RSS Feed

My Chi-Chickpea Carrot Salad

Posted on

My week was planned out, food wise. Except for lunch. I bought two cans of chickpeas but I had no idea what I’ll do with it. Plain garbanzo beans, maybe? With salt and pepper. Then I realized I had carrots…. Currants…. Spices…. To make the story short, my creative juice got flowing and I now have a tasty lunch waiting for me tomorrow! I snuck in a bite, of course.

Here it is!

    Chi-Chickpea Carrot Salad

2 TBSP olive oil
3 carrots, minced
1 onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/2 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 cup currants
1TBSP chia seeds
1/4 cup lemon juice (or lime juice)
1 TBSP apple cider vinegar
2 cans chickpea, rinsed
1/2 cup pecans, roasted, crushed
1 tsp salt (I used Himalayan pink salt)

1.) Heat up a large pan with olive oil. Sauté onions and carrots for 5 minutes, until softened.

2.) Stir in garlic, cook for 1 minute. Add spices, currants, chia seeds, apple cider vinegar and lemon juice. Stir until everything is coated in spices.

3.) Add chickpeas, stir. Add pecans and salt.

4.) Season to taste. Serve warm with greens on the side.

5.) Enjoy!!!!!

Delicious! Both my husband are splitting it for lunch this week. Yum!!! I love it when I’m able to come up with something tasty while using what I have. Even more so that chia is in it- some people add sesame seeds to their stir fry, stews and the likes. Why not chia? All the nutrients and none of the allergens (I’m allergic to sesame). Works for me!!!

What do you usually do for lunch?

20130224-200834.jpg

Leave a Reply

