RSS Feed

An abundance of eggplants requires creativity

Posted on

We bought too many eggplants for the recipe the other night. Or rather we gave up cooking halfway through since that recipe required so much olive oil. What to do with all of the eggplants?

I was reminded of a favorite dish I get whenever I go to Indian restaurants. Baba ganoush. It’s like hummus except its made with eggplants. I love it. But I’ve never made it before. So I googled for a vegan version (it’s typically vegan but a lot recipes I found had yogurt?).

Then I came across: http://cleangreensimple.com/2011/06/baba-ganoush/

I basically used it as a guideline. I broiled eggplants in the oven for 25 minutes since it was already cut up and I couldn’t put it on the stovetop to cook it directly on the fire. Then I cooked it in a covered pan for 20 minutes, while turning it over to avoid burning it.

In the Vitamix I poured in lemon juice, dropped in 3 cloves of garlic, scooped in a spoonful of peanut butter (I’m allergic to sesame seeds and I found that its a decent substitute for tahini), a pinch of salt and 2 TBSP of olive oil. When the eggplants were soft, almost runny, I added it to the blender. And blended away.

With crispy brown rice tortillas, it was a delicious addition to my dinner! I had leftover root vegetable soup. It was packed with flavor, it was hearty and it tickled my taste buds. My husband and I found it deeply satisfying.

Yum! What do you do with extra eggplants?

20121130-194738.jpg

20121130-194803.jpg

Leave a Reply

