RSS Feed

Using up what we have before Thanksgiving

Posted on

We’ve been planning our meals the last two weeks with astounding results: we could relax more with delicious food on hand! Okay maybe it’s not as shocking as one would think but it’s sure easy to forget, isn’t it?

Well, for this week my husband and I agreed that we would only pick up a few things at the store. No meals. Just fruit, eggs and milk.

Wait, don’t we still have to eat tonight, tomorrow, Tuesday and Wednesday? We aren’t planning on starving ourselves, don’t worry. Hah, me who is a self-proclaimed foodie go without? I think not.

Instead we agreed to focus on using up what we have first. Which required a bit of creativity, nothing crazy though. But I surprised myself! The rice I made is something I definitely plan on making again! Sun-dried tomato rice. Yes, please. I also cooked collard greens in a pan with shallots, garlic and chickpeas. It made for a filling and delicious meal!

    Sun-dried tomato Rice

1 cup brown rice
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
2 1/2 cup vegetable broth (we used low-sodium)
1 TBSP dried oregano
Salt and pepper to taste

1.) Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and bring to boil.

2.) Cover and simmer for 40-45 minutes until liquid is absorbed.

3.) Serve hot.

It’s now my leftovers for lunch this week along with hard boiled eggs! See, I’m not going to starve.

Actually a chocolate cupcake with yam frosting sounds good to me right now… Good thing I have some left in the fridge.

One thing I’m thankful for today: a very supportive husband who encourages me to take risks, including my cooking and writing. Speaking of which, I started another blog: Dru’s Naked Feet. Check it out at https://drusnakedfeet.wordpress.com/ ! Naked feet? I run barefoot- read more if you’re curious!

20121118-185901.jpg

Leave a Reply

