RSS Feed

Strawberries galore!

Posted on

I had a LOT of strawberries and I have been dreaming of ways to use it. I woke up craving a smoothie. So darn it, I made some!

It was so light and tasty- not too sweet which was nice! It felt like a breakfast. I have to admit my Vita-mix helped a LOT.

    Strawberry Almond Milk Smoothie

2 cups of fresh strawberries, hulled
2 cups almond milk, unsweetened
3 TBSP flaxseed meal
1 TBSP raw honey*
1/4 cup shredded zucchini

* I prefer raw honey over processed honey due to both taste and nutritional value. Processed honey might as well be white sugar. Also add more if you want it sweeter.

Combine all in a blender and process until completely smooth! You might want to strain to remove the seeds, but I didn’t have an issue with that.

It makes enough for two people, but I drank it all myself. All that goodness?! Oh yes! Strawberries are packed with antioxidants, especially vitamin C, flaxseed is a cholesterol reducing agent with it’s high lignan count, almond milk contains protein, vitamin B and more, and zukes has plenty of dietary fiber.

Yup! I’m feeling good after my breakfast smoothie! I would have made eggs to go with it but I ran out of time. Another morning!

Whacha have today? Please don’t tell me you skipped breakfast! I cannot function without this most important meal of the day!

20120830-103258.jpg

20120830-103311.jpg

20120830-103325.jpg

Leave a Reply

