RSS Feed

A surprising delight

Posted on

My work schedule allows me to cook a “real” breakfast on Wednesday mornings. Sure I come home late but it’s a fair trade off, I dare say. However the plan was to have cereal with fresh fruit. Don’t get me wrong, I love it!

But when I opened the refrigerator and saw the leek’s greens beginning to wilt. I absolutely HATE throwing out food. Ah! And it was a good amount as well. What to do? I was going to save the eggs to make bread later on. Mmmmmm oh the dilemma!

I can always get more eggs later, I thought to myself. So I grabbed the leeks and cut it up. I sautéed it for five minutes, while whisking two eggs with lemon juice. Yes, lemon juice. I once got scrambled eggs at Whole Foods and it tasted amazing! The ingredients? Eggs and lemon juice. So I had to try it. I poured the egg mixture over the softened leeks. The aroma was already pleasant and made me hum what was probably an off-key terror of a sound. Hope my neighbor below didn’t hear me.

20120829-083548.jpg

20120829-083556.jpg

The result? I loved it! I have to be careful with eggs since it can make me feel weird if I eat it straight up without anything. But the ratio of this was perfect! I would say there was a little bit more leeks than eggs, or maybe it was even? Regardless, I loved it! And you bet I’ll make it again when we buy leeks!

So when you’re trying to figure out what to have breakfast, look to see what vegetables you have left that needs to be used up and just cook it! Dad always made omelette with leftovers growing up. You can say his cooking style rubbed off onto me.

20120829-083604.jpg

20120829-083610.jpg

One response »

  1. Very nice pan there!! Wink wink!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

