RSS Feed

In the mood for jalapeño poppers but no cheese or bacon on hand?

Posted on

I’ve been dreaming of jalapeño poppers all day. But I wasn’t in the mood to go to the store. I just wanted to come home and watch the Olympics! (go Phelps- I love watching swimmers do their thing!). So… But I didn’t have bacon. And I can’t have dairy.

But.. I did have jalapeños. There must be something I can do with it right? I’m not eating it alone straight up. Maybe a certain Celtics fan will. Not me!

So it was time to look in the fridge. And naturally… Inspiration struck! With a grin on my face, I halved and seeded the jalapeños. Pulled out the food processor and combined Daiya (a soy free vegan cheese) with sunflower seeds. I filled the spicy peppers with this combo. Baked it at 350 for 10 minutes.

It was so good! I’m already planning on making more! No gross feeling afterwards either- sometimes that happens with bacon. And I’m still being good- no dairy. I do miss cheese but Daiya helps with that!

This new concoction of mine has a somewhat crunch to it. Tastes nutty. The filling helped balance out the heat. Yum!!!

But I downed it so fast and now I have no snacks for the swimming finals!!! Mmm… I’ve got blackberries for dessert! Okay that will do.

20120731-202632.jpg

One response »

  1. what a good combo. I wondering will pumpkin seeds works too? mmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

