RSS Feed

A fruity salad for dinner?

Posted on

Epicurious saves the day once again!!! Mango as the main ingredient for a dinner salad? Absolutely!!! It was packed with flavor, with mango, cilantro and red onions balancing each other out. Also the recipe called for sugar. I’m allergic to cane sugar so I used date sugar instead. Here’s the recipe below- you can also find it on epicurious. Just type in mango salad.

“Yield: Makes 4 servings
Active Time: 15 min
Total Time: 15 min

Ingredients
2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon sugar (I used date sugar)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 (1-lb) firm-ripe mango, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 large tomato, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (I used two medium sized tomatoes)
1 small red onion, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise (couldn’t find a small one so it was half of a large one)
1/3 cup fresh cilantro leaves (half a bunch- so it probably came to 1 cup)

Preparation
Whisk together vinegar, lemon juice, sugar, salt, and pepper until sugar is dissolved, then add oil, whisking until emulsified. Add remaining ingredients and toss until coated.

Gourmet, January 2002″

I just made the dressing and set it aside. In another bowl I mixed up the mango, red onion and tomatoes. Once it was evenly mixed, I added cilantro. Then I tossed it with the dressing. Alex and I enjoyed this with cod for dinner. It was both filling and light enough that we did not feel gross afterwards. It even whetted my appetite for dessert. With mango, who needs dessert?!

We had a bit left the next day, so I mixed it up with a can of chickpea. Yet another satisfying meal!!!

20120422-182914.jpg

Leave a Reply

