RSS Feed

Faux cinnamon buns

Posted on

I don’t necessarily miss ONE food- but rather the experiences I had with food. Remember those mornings with a warm and sticky cinnamon bun? Already rare to begin with, but it stays with you. The gooey goodness and the satisfaction you gain from enjoying each bite. Well, it’s been awhile.

With dairy being one of my new allergies, I had to bid farewell to Against the Grain. Mmm… Which meant another search. Somebody had once mentioned a food that was fun to cook as well eat, but what was it? I couldn’t remember.

Until one day I went to Whole Foods to pick up Against the grain for my family (they can have dairy), and as I passed the dairy section (believe it or not), there it was!!! Mochi! I picked it up and read the ingredients: sweet brown rice and filtered water. Umm, that’s it? So I bought a few. They also had one with cinnamon and raisins.

I cut it as directed- in squares and placed them on a cookie sheet. 10 minutes later they were puffy! It doubled in size! So cool to see. I popped one in my mouth. Tasted okay. Now this was the original. Later I tried the cinnamon raisin… SO much better! I happened to have my jar of raw honey out, without thinking I took a knife and slathered it on a plate. Shrugging, I dipped a piece in the honey.

I had that experience once again! A warm cinnamon bun with it’s sweetness oozing on it. I ate it all. All of it.

And I baked some more later that week.

Twice.

20120403-195118.jpg

One response »

  1. Don’t forget your fruits and veggies! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

