RSS Feed

A comforting cupcake

Posted on

Two dozen cupcakes: not the prettiest, but your taste buds will thank you!

I wanted to say it was a cat’s meow of a cupcake, but that doesn’t quite work if I don’t have a cat frosted ont the cupcakes. Alas! But it IS delicious! It’s from Living Without, a gluten-free magazine filled with must-try recipes. I have been wanting to bake cupcakes for a while, especially with Halloween coming up. I just haven’t been able to find the perfect recipe.

Then I found it. Check it out at: http://www.livingwithout.com/recipes/gluten_free_vanilla_cake-1417-1.html . Or find it in the April/May 2009 issue. You can preheat the oven at 350°, line two cupcake pans (a dozen each). It makes 24. One thing that I have to recommend is to use foil liners. Don’t even bother with paper ones. They get stuck to the cake and you end up eating paper with half of it. It’s pretty gross. It seems to happen with EVERY gluten-free recipe for cupcakes, muffins and whatever else I need a cupcake liner for. Hence the foil. And it works out PERFECTLY. Get fun colors or prints! We got pirate skeletons for Halloween.

Mixing up the batter!

Now, I have to warn you, it really isn’t a healthy recipe. But that’s okay by me, since we don’t often make sweets. It’s a rare treat for us. I used butter, which helped with the flavor. The only other corn-free option I can think of is coconut spread. That would affect the flavor, so if you don’t want to detect coconut, go with butter. I also used rice milk. It was supposed to be hot, but I didn’t bother heating it up. Not a problem. Just be sure to constantly stir!!! Also one more substitution was made: flaxseed meal instead of xanthan gum. Worked out beautifully.

Another suggestion (I know, I’m just full of them for this recipe), bake one tray at a time. Otherwise one tray will cook perfectly while the other will appear flat. Does NOT affect the taste at all though! It just makes it prettier if you want to serve it at a party or something. Sometimes appearance seem to make something taste better, doesn’t it? Even if it all ends up in your stomach.

Cupcakes waiting to bake!

We tried frosting it, but I messed it up. I’m not sure what I did wrong, and I didn’t bother trying to make another batch. So my fiancée and I ate it straight up or with the messy icing. Tasted FANTASTIC. I’m SO making these cupcakes again! For my friends, for my family. In fact, I think I’ll make it for the dinner thing I’m having next weekend! Mmmm, oh yes.

Now the next thing I need to do is experiment with frosting. Figure out which one works the best for those cupcakes. I do want to make something fancy, so we’ll see what I come up with! Ideas are always appreciated!!!

Happy cupcaking!

One response »

  1. Yeah, you’ll have to let me know what the culprit was for the frosting. Was it the:

    -rice milk
    -lack of sugar
    -excess vanilla extract

    Put on your Sherlock Holmes outfit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

