RSS Feed

Crab cakes that I just LOVED!

Posted on

The other night I made these AMAZING crab cakes. It was my first time making them, and I didn’t follow any recipe. I just went with what felt right. It was delicious! Spicy, tangy and tropical. What made them spicy? Fresh ginger that I threw in my food processor. Tropical? Instead of bread crumbs, I used unsweetened coconut flakes. Tangy? Lemon juice, what else? Most of the stuff I used was lying around. Two things that was out of norm was the crab meat (crab claws that we found for a really good deal at Market Basket, where we don’t usually shop) and the fresh ginger root (I often buy this when I have a use in mind for it).

My whole family loved it. Even my mom who isn’t too fond of spicy food. Her eyes lit up when she took a bite. I was thrilled when I took my own first taste.

Okay, okay, enough clamoring for the recipe! Well, I hope you DO try it! I know I’ll make it again. The only difference is I’ll have a sauce of some sort on the side. I cannot have mayo, so I’m not too sure about that yet.

Ginger-Coconut Crab Cakes

1 pound crab meat (preferably  claw meat)

1/4 cup grapeseed oil

1/4 cup green onions, minced

2 TBSP lemon juice (use the juice of one whole lemon)

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1 heaping TBSP dried cilantro (or 2 TBSP fresh)

2 inches of ginger root, processed

2 garlic cloves, processed (along with the ginger root to save time)

2 eggs

2 cup coconut flakes*, divided (1 cup in the crab meat mixture, and 1 cup later to cover the patties)

 

1.) Mix all ingredients into bowl throughly, except for 1 cup of coconut flakes. I suggest using your hands to dive into it. Let sit for a bit.

2.) Get the remaining cup of coconut flakes ready in a flat or low bowl.

3.) Form patties by using 1/4 cup to measure out the mixture and put it in the bowl of coconut flakes, covering it. (You can do this ahead of time, up to one day)

4.) Heat skillet with oil. Cook patties on each side for approximately 3 minutes, until lightly browned. Serve hot.

*The coconut flakes I use come from Whole Foods. You can find unsweetened coconut flakes, those without any preservatives to keep it “separate” (unnecessary chemical for me? No thank you), in the bulk section. There’s a FEW brands with this as well.

If you can think of any dressing or topping that would taste great with this, please share your ideas! And unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures. I was just so excited about eating it that it completely slipped my mind. I know, I know. I’ll do my best to remember next time! But really, the ginger, coconut flakes and the spices just knocked it out of the ballpark. I KNOW I’ll make it again! I just don’t know when. Too many recipes to try, and too many dishes to enjoy.

2 responses »

  1. Crab cakes are a favourite of mine – delicious sounding recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

