RSS Feed

Guilt-free pasta

Posted on

Is there a such thing? Yes! It’s called spaghetti squash! It’s an actual squash that after baking looks like pasta with strands you scrape out with a fork. Only 42 calories per cup. I love it. The hardest part is cutting it open. It’s a great arm workout. Once you’ve done that, it’s a piece of cake. Lightly oil the edges, bake face down for nearly an hour at 350°. Add toppings of your preference. Viola!

Spaghetti Squash, courtesy of Hadley!

Last night was my grandfather’s 82nd birthday. Amazing, we just celebrated his and my grandmother’s 60th anniversary! It truly is a blessing being able to witness all of that. For dinner my mother made gluten-free macaroni and cheese with sausage. Homemade, of course. It looked delicious, but I’ve been having trouble with sausage and an excessive amount of dairy. So I told Mom ahead of time that I’ll made spaghetti squash for myself. She asked that I make enough for everybody, so I did. There were 9 of us.

So I cut up two squashes, baked it, cut up a good amount of fresh herbs from our garden out back, cooked it in oil, toasted almonds and tossed it all. It was… perfect. I had absolutely NO hankering for the cheesy dish in front of me, as wonderful it looked. It sated my hunger, and it was delicious. The toasted almonds MADE the dish. Here’s the recipe!

Herbed Spaghetti Squash

2 spaghetti squashes, prepared (read above)

1/3 cup grapeseed oil

1/3 cup fresh herbs*, chopped (measure after chopping)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup toasted almonds

 

Fresh herbs for the dish

Guilt-free spaghetti squash!

1. Bake the spaghetti squash for nearly an hour, as prepared. Once finished, scrape into a bowl.

2. Heat oil in a small pan, and add garlic to it. Constantly stir, to avoid burning. After a minute, add the herbs. Cook until the garlic are lightly browned, and the herbs has a chance to infuse with the oil. This will take approximately 2 minutes. Don’t forget to keep on stirring!

3. Mix everything in the bowl. Be sure it’s evenly spread. Serve! If you’re not serving immediately, keep warm until ready.

4. As always, ENJOY!

* For the fresh herbs I used basil, oregano, chives and sage. You can use anything you would like, as long it’s something you like eating.

And really . . . it’s a vegetable that feels like pasta. What’s not to like?

Leave a Reply

