RSS Feed

Time to BAKE!

Posted on

I’ve been telling myself that it’s time to bake for so long, but I just haven’t gotten around to it until TODAY! I originally planned on trying a new recipe, going to the store and buying ingredients needed. Then I remembered that it’s my siblings’ birthday tomorrow, and we’re having a dinner here for them. Which means, we need the fridge empty. So no more food, and just use what I have in the pantry.

Mexican brownies, but you can call them yummy brownies!

Now I’m the first to admit that my pantry is not exactly your typical one, with all of the flours, sweeteners, vinegar and oils I have. Then it hit me… I have a favorite dessert, that is a HUGE hit every time I make it for somebody. Mexican brownies. I came up with the recipe years ago, when I first went gluten-free. But a lot has changed since then, so modifications are needed. Which is why it has taken me so long to try it again. I just didn’t feel like doing the work. Until today!

Mexican brownies are perfect for chocolate lovers. Especially those who loves a hint of cinnamon. It’s DIFFERENT. And I love it. LOVE it.

Without further ado, here’s the recipe!

Mexican Brownies

Dry ingredients:

1 cup gluten-free flour (I used 1/3 cup millet, 1/3 cup teff and 1/3 cup quinoa flour)

1/2 cup walnuts, grounded (use a food processor)

2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 cup sugar

Wet ingredients:

1/2 cup grapeseed oil

1 1/2 tsp yacon syrup*

1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life)

2 flax gels (1 TBSP flaxseed meal + 3 TBSP water = 1 flax gel)

Double boiling chocolate chips

My little helper serving Mexican brownies! (it's a shark oven mitts)

1.) Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9×9 pan. Set aside.

2.) Mix all of the dry ingredients except for sugar in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients except for the chocolate chips.

3.) Double boil the chocolate chips. If you have a double boiler, great. If you have NO idea what that is, you need only two things: a small saucepan with 1/2 inch of water in it and a glass bowl. Put the glass pan over the saucepan, and turn the burner on. Put the chocolate in the glass bowl, stir until it’s completely melted. Add to the wet ingredients.

4.) Fold the dry ingredients into the wet, until completely blended.

5.) Using a spatula, transfer the mixture into the 9×9 pan.

6.) Bake for 30 minutes.

7.) Chow time!

Now, since this is an egg-less recipe (we use flax gel instead), it will seem extremely moist, leading you to wonder if it’s throughly baked or not. Well, there’s no eggs, so exactly what has to be throughly baked? It will be EXTREMELY moist, and absolutely delicious. You could use 2 eggs instead of the flax gel if you want a more cake-like texture, but that means it won’t be vegan anymore. And for those not on a gluten-free diet? Not worried about gluten at all, or don’t have any of those “special” flours lying around? You can use regular flour instead.

Yacon syrup

Oh, right, yacon syrup. You see, molasses has corn in it. I know, don’t ask me how! So that nixes brown sugar. There is supposedly a corn-free brand, but you have to order it online. I haven’t been able to find it at local health food stores or Whole Foods. So I found a substitute for molasses: yacon syrup. You can find it at Whole Foods. It’s from yacon plants. Real helpful, I know. But hey, it’s from the Andes. Terrible for carbon footprint, but amazing for your taste buds. One cup of sugar plus 1 1/2 tsp of yacon syrup equals 1 cup of light brown sugar. Need dark brown sugar? Add 3 tsp of yacon syrup instead.

Now, I’m going to sneak in another piece of Mexican brownies!

One response »

  1. Hey Dru.. You will have to bring some for us to sample! I ve always loved spicy sweets! So.. bring it O-V-E-R one of these days!.. Freeze a couple.. when you have some on hand.. and then those will be ours! No?
    smiling…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

