RSS Feed

Summertime means ice cream!

Posted on

For so long, I’ve been denied ice cream due to all of the corn or soy in it. It was a very sad period in my life. But last weekend, all of that changed! I got an ice cream maker. The solution to my dilemma! So of course, I had to experiment right away.

I found this recipe from an article in ReadyMade.com magazine from the June/July 2010 issue. Are you ready? Three-spice chocolate ice cream. Oh yeahhhhhhhhh. It’s not a spicy ice cream as the name might imply, but it is a savory one. The three spices used are: cloves, cardamom and cinnamon. Doesn’t those names just dance on the tip of your tongue? The aroma of it certainly makes me want to dance!

Those are the ingredients needed to make this heavenly ice cream:

  • 2 c whole milk (I used Lactaid)
  • ½ c plus ½ c sugar
  • 1 t ground cloves
  • 1 t ground cardamom
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • ⅛ t salt
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • ⅓ c unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 oz bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 2 c whipping cream
  • 1 t vanilla

It was so much fun learning how to make this, starting by adding the spices to milk, and letting the flavor steep. Then straining the mixture, which was interesting because we never expected it to be that thick!

Pouring sugar into the milk

Clove: grounded aromatic dried flower buds that tingled my senses

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sugar and spice dancing in the milk

Straining the milk mixture

Then it was time to add in the eggs! Yes, eggs. Apparently the best homemade ice cream recipes include eggs, creating a custard like texture before freezing it (keep in mind, custards require cooking so no raw eggs consumption here).

 

 

 

Eggs bringing sunshine in the kitchen! The key ingredient to ice cream.

The creamy milk combination waiting for the next step.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Combining eggs, cocoa powder and milk mixture at last!

After cooking the ingredients together, it begged for an ice bath

Then possibly the weirdest step of all . . . cover it with plastic, TOUCHING the not yet frozen ice cream. Ice cream that isn’t frozen yet is just cream, right? Well, with the help of my assistant chef, I was able to accomplish this. It wasn’t a difficult task, just awkward really.

 

 

 

 

Watching the cream blend with the chocolate only made my mouth water

Plastic does its magic!

It took a long nap in the fridge, for approximately four hours? Then came the exciting part . . . USING the ice cream maker! Now, the important thing is before you do this, is freeze the freezer bowl (is there another word for freeze? I feel like I’m repeating myself a lot…) Otherwise it won’t work.

 

 

 

 

Churn, baby, churn!

Ice cream being poured into a Pyrex, ready to go into the freezer!

Isn't that beautiful? The curls of spices in chocolate...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was so much fun making three-spice chocolate ice cream with my boyfriend. I realize that this isn’t an original recipe, but it was a new experience for me! The complete recipe can be found on http://www.readymade.com/projects/spice_cream_three_spice_chocolate_ice_cream/next_step#steps .

And the result? A savory ice cream! My first one in months, after realizing that many had corn in it, hidden by different names or unsuspecting ingredients. THIS is what defines summer to me. Quality ice cream. Everybody who had a taste raved about it. And guess what I’m doing tonight?

Mint chocolate ice cream. Oh yeah, baby.

Enjoying the ice cream with carrot cake iced with creamy coconut frosting, all homemade!

2 responses »

  1. Yum! Do you know where homemade ice cream recipes can be found, and if different types of sugar would affect its texture? I’m thinking beet, cane, evaporated cane juice, etc.

    Reply
    • I once made ice cream with honey, but the outcome wasn’t that great. Now it might have been due to the fact that I wasn’t following a recipe. I used vegan sugar for this ice cream. I’m sure we can use other sugar like substances successfully, provided it’s in similiar form. But liquid sweeteners such as agave, or maple syrup (unless it’s for the flavor), I’m not so sure about. Have you tried it?

      Dru

      Reply

Leave a Reply

