RSS Feed

The edible city of Burlington!

Posted on

For the Memorial Day weekend, I was fortunate enough to travel up to Burlington, VT to watch the marathon. What a feat!!! 26.2 miles? Insane, but doable if you can commit to the training! Congratulation to all who participated. I applaud your endurance and willingness to take on a challenge. Especially a special somebody, who was so dedicated to it that he gave up various things such as beer in order to succeed!

Having heard that Burlington was a very green and health conscious community, I was not at all concerned about food up there. And how right was I! We chose to stay at the Burlington Hostel, which I highly recommend! Halfway between Church Street and Lake Champlain on Main Street, it is within walking distance of everything you would want to visit! By opting to stay at a hostel, I was able to ensure that I would have access to a kitchen. This meant the option of cooking if needed or desired. We stumbled upon The City Market: Onion River Co-op (http://www.citymarket.coop/). It was reasonably priced and the hours suited our needs. It stayed open until 11 PM! One night, we decided to pick up a bar of chocolate instead of stopping by a restaurant for dessert. We did this close to 10 PM, and it was perfect for us. We picked up basics, including vegetables, rice pasta, tomato sauce, cereal, milk, and a new find: sweet potato soup! Imagine Foods has plenty of delicious flavors to choose from! I was excited to try this.

One morning, for breakfast, we checked out Penny Cluse Cafe. I ate a bowl of cereal beforehand, knowing that there was a good chance that I wouldn’t be able to find much. Imagine my surprise when I found out how big the fruit platter was! Fresh cherries, pineapple, raspberries (those three fruits had me sold and I ordered it without hearing the rest), grapefruit, oranges, apples, strawberries, mangos, papayas, dates and watermelon. ALL of that on one platter! On the side I also ordered a pineapple-mango smoothie, made with coconut milk. It was the best breakfast I’ve ever had eating out. Ever. No lie. I’m not kidding. At all.

Seriously. If you’re in the area, go there! Check out their menus at http://pennycluse.com/. They also have specials which they don’t put online. But the atmosphere was great, I immediately felt comfortable. The waitress was so friendly and eager to please. We were able to stay for as long as we wanted, without feeling rushed. Now, know this: they often have a waiting time of one hour. It is WORTH IT.

But every vacation has to come to an end! I practically dragged my feet home, not wanting to leave the beautiful city. I wasn’t looking forward to making myself something today, knowing I didn’t have much in my pantry. Food shopping is in order. But I was starving, so I decided to whip up pasta. I remembered that I brought home half of the sweet potato soup. Inspiration struck! I had a lunch that I could see myself eating at one of the cafes along Church Street up in Burlington, VT. Sweet potato soup with dried thyme and dried basil poured over spiral rice pasta.

Pasta with sweet potato soup

It put a smile on my face. And I call that a success!

 

Leave a Reply

