RSS Feed

A Sweet and Spicy Hot Chocolate

Posted on

I realize it’s May, but it was also 50 degrees this morning, with a damp chill that seeped into my bones. So of course, I wanted a mug of hot chocolate!

Since my sister is on a vegan kick,  I decided to go this route today. It turned out absolutely decadent! Now, you can easily adjust this recipe to suit your own taste or need (yes, you can NEED chocolate).

Whipping it up was a quickie, while savoring it took me awhile longer. I didn’t want to say good bye to the last drop in my mug just yet. So I let the flavors linger on my taste buds. Mmmmmm, now I’m ready to start my day! There’s something magical about a simple mug of hot cocoa. I’ll never question it.

A Sweet and Spicy Hot Chocolate

(single serving)

Water, sugar and cocoa powder cooking in a small pan.

1 cup rice milk (you can substitute this with cow, soy, or almond milk if you prefer)

1/8 cup water

1/8 cup sugar (I use cane sugar or evaporated cane juice)

1/8 cup cocoa powder

1/4 tsp vanilla extract (I made my own- it’s very simple! I’ll write another post of how to do this)

a pinch of cinnamon

a pinch of ground cloves

a pinch of chili powder

1.) In a small pan, mix water with sugar and cocoa powder. Whisk constantly until it boils for a minute. Make sure it is evenly combined.

2.) Add milk, and continue stirring. Do NOT let this boil! Otherwise it becomes too hot, and you are unable to enjoy it.

3.) As you remove it from heat, add in the spices and vanilla. Stir, pour and serve yourself!

If you want to make this for four people, you can simply adjust the recipe above to 4 c milk, 1/2 c water, sugar, and cocoa powder. 1 tsp vanilla. 1/2 tsp for all of the spices used. Want to make it extra fancy? Blend an additional cup of milk until it’s frothy. Before serving, evenly distribute the froth over the four mugs, and add a dash of cinnamon on the top!!!

I have to say this… YUM!

A decadent hot chocolate

Leave a Reply

