RSS Feed

Surviving in a Gluten/Corn/Soy Riddled World

Posted on

Food is my passion. Maybe that’s a cliché, but it’s true. My biggest dilemma, which also is my biggest inspiration, is the fact that gluten, corn and soy (GCS) makes me sick. So sick that it’s just NOT worth risking a taste. I rather eat a bland diet for the rest of my life than deal with the aftermath of GCS for a few days.

But fortunately that is not the case! I’ve been able to play with food. Yes, play! Often when somebody finds out what I cannot eat, they freak out. My response is simply this: tell them what I CAN eat.

I’ve made chocolate souffle, chicken stuffed with mangoes and raisins (absolutely ambrosial!), picadillo (I actually start dancing every time the aroma reaches my nose;  it’s involuntary, my body just reacts), shark-shaped mock Oreo’s (SO much fun to eat!), and more. I’m even able to adapt so I can dine with a vegetarian, with a person who wants their meat still red with juice, a person who swears by bread (ever heard of Against the Grain? The best invention EVER), and delight in a body-warming mint hot chocolate with a special somebody.

While enjoying all of these meals, I also love finding ideas to try out, but I’ve always had to make substitutions. So why not write about my own experience, so if somebody else has the same food issues, they can enjoy it without having to adjust anything.

I hope you’ll join me on this adventurous culinary experience that I’m about to embark on!!!

2 responses »

  1. just discovered your blog today and i’m thrilled! why? my roommate and good friend is living gluten-free and it has opened my eyes to a new world! i’m definitely sharing your blog with her and i hope she will learn many new recipes she can make. 🙂 thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. I’m glad to hear that you’re sharing this with your roommate! I hope you both find this enjoyable and useful. Also if you have anything you would like to read about, let me know and I’ll see what I can do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

