RSS Feed

Pinterest Baking

Posted on

It seems like Pinterest is the place to go these days! I go there to look for ideas for practically everything. It’s amazing what they have on there!

Including recipes. Yes, food related inspiration can be found there! Today I typed in “gluten-free cookies” in the search bar. A galore of pictures came up! I clicked on one that came up quite often. It took me to http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2011/03/gluten-free-cookiesshared.html . I looked over the recipe and decided that I should try it. With a LOT of tweaking.

Now, reasons for the change include: it asked for a LOT of butter, I wanted to use all-purpose flour instead of just rice flour, I cannot have brown sugar, and nor can I have xanthan gum. So here’s what I came up with:

Delightful Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened (or one stick)

1/2 cup olive oil

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used my homemade one)

1 teaspoon brown rice syrup*

1 1/2 cup sugar

2 1/4 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons flaxseed meal**

1 teaspoon salt

10 oz. Enjoy Life chocolate chips or one bag

*Instead of having brown sugar, you can have one cup of sugar with one teaspoon of yacon syrup. But I realized I left it at a friend’s, so I found another thing similar to molasses: brown rice syrup! Works beautifully.

**Through experimenting, thanks to my future mother-in-law’s advice, I now know flaxseed meal often can substitute for xanthan gum. Actually I haven’t had it NOT work.

1.) Mix vanilla, eggs, butter and brown rice syrup in a small bowl.

2.) Blend the rest of dry ingredients in a mixing bowl, except for chocolate chips.

3.) Combine the two; I had to get my hands dirty and mix it well. Just be sure to wash your hands well beforehand!

4.) Add chocolate chips and continue combining.

5.) Scoop out dough onto cookie sheets, and try to keep it small. If it’s too big, it’ll become difficult to handle after baking. Think… Hershey’s Kisses. You can go slightly bigger than that.

6.) Bake for 9 minutes. When you take it out, leave it on the cookie sheet for a few minutes. Give it 5. Then place it on foil to cool.

7.) Tastes AMAZING with a tall glass of cold milk! Or rice milk. Soy milk. Whatever you prefer.

I was able to make 4 dozen (now, the first two batches were slightly big.. trial and error! So it probably could make 5 dozens. Or more even.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 283 other followers

